WORK IT OUT!!

Fitness Tips #4 : Starting your fitness journey.

If you’re trying to get back into your fitness routine or your just now starting your fitness Journey. Let me be the first to say WELCOME. It will not be easy but I’ll be worth it and that is all that matters.

image

• Making a choice to start a healthy lifestyle
• Setting a time and place to workout
• Setting small reachable goals
• Adapting better eating habits
• Increasing your daily intake of water
• Good sleeping habits
• Rewarding yourself

1. Making a choice to start a healthy lifestyle.
image

YOU make the choice for YOURSELF to change YOUR lifestyle to one that will make YOU happy. First I want YOU to be happy with the body YOU have today. Now make a PROMISE to YOURSELF to make that body much healthier because it’s the only one YOU have to live in.

image

2. Setting a time and place to workout.

image

Are you a night person? Are you a day person?
Do you like working out at home or going to the gym? When do you feel like you can set a time to work out? Where do you want to work out? You can even try out both and see what works for you and your lifestyle.

Me personally I workout in the morning. As soon as I get up glass water. I think about my morning workout which is always yoga. Then in the afternoon I do whatever challenges I’m doing which is either abs or squats whatever it is. I do those challenges in the afternoon. At night I do my full body workout that makes me sweat hard to help me fall asleep.

If you like to try what I do. Go for it. Do what is best for you and your lifestyle.

3. Setting small reachable goals.

image

-Specific goals.
That will HELP you in your fitness journey.
EXAMPLE : I want to loss 20 pounds in 12 weeks. So I can feel great and keep up with my kids on our vacation.
Specific: what you want to achieve (20Lbs) and the time frame to complete it (12 weeks)

-Challenging.
Set challenges yet realistic goals for yourself.

EXAMPLE : 45Lbs in 12 weeks.

It is challenging. It’s just not realistic for most people. If you can do that 🙌 more power to you. For the people that can’t do that. I can’t do it. Let’s keep our goals realistic. Let’s keep it real.

-Approach.
Set a goal with a POSITIVE VIBE and not a BAD VIBE.

EXAMPLE :
Positive Vibes – I want to loss weight so I can so I can have a great time playing with my kids on our vacation.
Bad Vibes– Because I hate myself.

* Remember to love the body YOU have now. And work on making that body healthy and sexy!

-Measurable.
Keep track of your progress. If weight-loss is your goal. Try keeping a food journal and do weigh ins at the end of every week to reach your goals.

image

Now me personally I hate to get on scales. To me I’m never losing any weight. I try to see how my clothes fit on me tell me if I’ve lost any weight. Which makes me feel better because I’m not focused on a number. That’s me. If you hate getting on a scale try what I do. You will see it makes is so much better not worrying about a number.

-Proximal.
Breakdown large goes into smaller more manageable goals.

With our example of 20Lbs in 12 weeks. How much should you lose each month, week, days??
Working up to that large goal will keep you motivated till you reach YOUR Finish line.

-Inspirational.
Keeping YOUR goals aligned with YOUR personal ideas and ambitions. Do this for YOU and no one else. Make YOURSELF happy about YOUR body.

4. Adapting a better eating habits.

image

I know that’s easier said than done. I’m in the same boat struggling with eating better. I’m going back to being a Pescetarian and eating clean when I move in May when I can really go hard on my fitness journey.

What is clean eating??

Clean Eating: Eating clean is a good way to refresh your eating habits. It’s about eating more of the best and healthiest options in each of the food groups—and eating less of the not-so-healthy ones.

Meaning adding more fruits,vegetables, and whole grains, plus healthy proteins and fats to your diet.

Meal prep is also a good idea if you have the time. I suggest doing this on the days we have a lot of free time. Prep for the whole week.

What is Meal Prep??

Meal Prep : It’s when you prepare your food ahead of time for the upcoming days/weeks.

If you don’t know what to buy for clean eating I’ll post a picture of a clean eating shopping list from Pinterest and a picture of what meal prep looks like.
Clean eating shopping list ⬇️
image

image

image

image

Meal prep example ⬇️
image

Clean Eating and Meal Prep can help you stay away from all the no-so-good foods like chips and soda.

The more healthy foods you eat the more you crave healthy foods.

5. Increasing your daily intake of water.
image

Drinking more water should be the first thing you Incorporate into your fitness journey.

It’s recommend that you drink 8 glasses of water a day.

Most the time when you’re hungry you’re really just thirsty.

You’re a thirsty girl/boy lol.

So if you find that you’re still hungry after drinking a glass of water you can eat a snack after that.

– It keeps you from over eating
– Revs up your metabolism
– Drinking water keeps you healthy

6. Good sleeping habits.
image

Sleeping is very important to your weight-loss journey. How can you wake up and go hard on your workout if you have no energy?

– It helps stop late night snacking.
– Helps you burn more calories.
– It boosts fat loss.
– It helps you shop for healthier foods.
– It helps encourage portion control.
– It keeps your brain focused.

7. Rewarding yourself.

image

This has got to be the very best thing for your fitness journey which is rewarding yourself. Yes YOU get to reward YOURSELF after each goal has been reached.YOU have worked hard for this. Please keep in mind that YOUR rewards has to keep YOU motivated to reach the next goal and moving toward that finished line.

if you don’t know what or how to reward yourself don’t worry I have some ideas for you.

IDEAS FOR REWARDING YOURSELF:

*New running shoes/ workout clothes
image

*New songs for your workout playlist.
image

* New Gym equipment.
image

* A nice hot relaxing bath. Bubbles are optional but always a good idea.
image

* A spa day. Where you can get a message.
image

* You can go get your nails and feet done.

image

The list can go on for days. Just make sure that your rewards help your fitness journey and that it DOESNT set you back.

image

You are welcome to email me. If you need any tips.
If you need a cheerleader or someone to help keep you accountable. You can email me.
InTheLifeWithAyo@gmail.com

If you like this post make sure you hitting that LIKE button, and make sure you SUBSCRIBE to my blog if you haven’t already 😃

Make sure to follow my other social network sites

Instagram
http://instagram.com/ayo_j

Facebook
https://m.facebook.com/ayo.jenkins

Twitter
https://twitter.com/lovingmylife07

4 thoughts on “Fitness Tips #4 : Starting your fitness journey.

Leave a Reply

